Skip to content

Offer gifts that appeal to your customers

I received 7 magazine subscription offers in the last 2 days through the mail. Not 1 or 2, but 7. All of the magazines offer quality content and I could start receiving them within 6 to 8 weeks at a fraction of the cost (between 66% and 90% off the regular price). In addition, each of the magazine is offering me a gift: a pen with the magazine name on it, a laptop bag, a digital desktop clock, etc.

As I mentioned in an earlier post related to the same topic, I believe the golden era of printed magazines is behind us. With so much free content readily available on the Internet and with ever decreasing available time from reader, they need to rethink their business model.

As if I needed more reasons to throw these offers in my recycling bin, I realized how disconnected the people sending out these offers are. Would they be interested in receiving such bad gifts? What would they do with another laptop bag? Or with another cheap branded pen?

The only offer that made me think about subscribing was the one who would add hundreds of points to my frequent flyer account. It was the only offer that seemed actually directed toward me – the potential client. Had they offered a little more points, I would have fell for it even if I don’t need another magazine.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

