Skip to content

Why is my brain like a 56K modem?

As I was driving to work this morning, my brain was going through a list of outstanding activities I wish to complete over the next weeks: finalize the structure of the strategic committee, contact client X to present our newest offering, work with the team to write their objective in SMART format, recruit a few more consultants, finish reading “Strategy Maps: Converting Intangible Assets into Tangible Outcomes“, finish reading “slide:ology: The Art and Science of Creating Great Presentations“, start reading the draft version of “Leading Lean Software Development“, and re-read “Phil Gordon’s Little Green Book: Lessons and Teachings in No Limit Texas Hold’em“. I’m even listening to the audio version of Jack Welch’s book “Winning” when I’m in the car…

I love to learn and I like to read but there has to be a faster way to absorb information!

Then the 56K modem analogy popped-up. Sure, there are ways to improve my reading speed and yes, I possibly could try to read while I’m listening to music. It is somewhat frustrating to see that with the multiplication of information channels, we humans have limited abilities to simultaneously absorb more information.

Until someone finds a way to connect our brain to the Internet via fiber optic, I will have to continue prioritizing my activities.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Maybe you will find value in reading Tony Buzan’s “Using Both Sides of Your Brain”.

    For some parts it is getting old, but I guess that you would directly benefit from the chapter about reading fast (it has sure helped me a lot), and probably the “advanced mind map” one too, as a note taking technique wich allows to be reviewed very quickly.

    Regards,
    Yann

    November 5, 2009
    • Thank you Yann for the suggestion. I’ll try to get my hand on the book and I will add it to my virtual bookshelf 🙂

      November 5, 2009

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Books I have read – December 2009 | Pyxis blog

Leave a Reply

